The internet is a great source of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all over the world. Is all information on the internet reliable? What could be done to control information online?

The internet is an incredible source of information that has provided fantastic opportunities for people to gain knowledge all over the world. However, not all sources that are found on the internet can be deemed as reliable. The internet has become one of the most useful creations in the modern world. Its uses expand all across the planet and aid people in all different stages of life, such as, in the workplace or in school. Having said this, not all data found on this platform can be considered as reliable. Firstly, many sources can be altered or changed in a way to suit the creator of the site, rather than to provide any factual evidence that could aid a person's knowledge. Secondly, there is often no way of determining where the data displayed on these websites has come from, or, if they have been generated through an accurate and credible source of information. It is because of issues like these, that tighter control should be established. In order to do so, any webpages that are thought of as reliable should be checked by officials before they are put on the internet. Furthermore, a rating system should be introduced which scores certain webpages based on how informative and helpful they are. If the page is given a high score, then users can be assured that this is something they can use for any projects or to increase their own understanding. To conclude, although the internet has transformed our lives and enabled us to gain more insight into various topics, it cannot always be a trusted or, display material that is correct.