Some People Think They Have the Right to Use as Much Fresh Water as They Want, While Others Believe the Government Should Control the Use of Fresh Water as It Is a Limited Resource. Discuss Both Views and Give Your Own Opinion.

Some individuals argue that they can freely use clear water for whatever they want. Meanwhile, others think that the practice of using this water should be controlled by the authorities. Even though people can access groundwater by drilling the soil and using it freely, its availability is limited and the administration should regulate the usage to ensure its availability. On the one hand, people believe that freshwater can be obtained freely by drilling the earth to make a well, they can use it casually without any limitation. This is because every household usually drills the soil to pump out the groundwater and use it for daily necessities such as drinking water, cooking, and showers. Making their own well does not require a legal permit and they can use an unlimited amount of water. For example, in Surabaya, most of the residents have their own wells to fulfil their daily needs. However, this practice poses environmental risks in the long run. On the other hand, using a limited amount of groundwater for large consumption and economic activities poses risks to the environment and the government should set a rule to this phenomenon. Business places such as hotels and restaurants use groundwater to supply their needs which depletes water reserves. This type of business requires a huge amount of water consumption thus risking water availability for the residential area near their locations. In addition, in the long run, this can cause land to shrink. For instance, many studies reported that Jakarta’s land has shrunk over time due to the depletion of groundwater. This essay believes that the authorities should interfere with this conduct and rule out clean water consumption to prevent disasters. In conclusion, although pure water within the earth is available for people to use, the practice of this should be ruled out by the governments because for some activities using too much water will cause an environmental problem.