It was predicted that, with the development of technology, people in the 21st century would have much more free time than in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

Some predicted that due to the advancement of technology, folks will have more leisure time compared to the 20th century. This essay strongly disagrees with this statement because even though they have sophisticated tools, people have more complicated tasks to do and have more time to explore many ideas. Firstly, using high-tech tools enables employees to quickly finish some tasks, however, the problems to be solved are getting more complex. This is to say companies want their workers to go the extra mile to get their projects done. For example, Shopee wants their marketing staff to plan detailed marketing campaigns. They want them to compare various data to allow them to create well-planned campaigns that have a higher success rate. Ultimately even with the help of technology, the companies will require them to do more jobs because some tasks can be done with the help of AI, thus employers see that they can handle more assignments. Secondly, having AI to help finish employees’ to-do lists will provide more brainstorming time for them to prepare their projects. This is because AI can easily do some duties and people become more productive. They will use this time to improve and explore new strategies to attain their goals. For instance, research has shown that many copywriters have a significant increase in their productivity after using ChatGPT to help them generate notions. However, they create more content compared to before the emergence of AI and do not have more time than what has been predicted. In conclusion, the enhancement of technology does not offer more free time to people because they are required to do more complex assignments, and the supposed leisure time is changed to brainstorming time for their projects.