Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn teamwork. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is said that exercising can let kids realize the concept of competition, but some people also argue that it is cooperation that kids learn more from exercise. In my opinion, even though teamwork plays an important role in sports, I consider that the motivation to be competitive outweighs teamwork. It is obvious that children can learn how to be involved in a competition in sport. Unlike academic exams which people can not see where their opponents are and how they demonstrate their abilities, physical contests need people to perform in person. This is a great circumstance that simulates children's willingness to fight and encourages them to do their best to win. In the sports class in the elementary school, we can see some students try hard to win in various types of sports, such as dodgeball, basketball and running. They are learning to become little athletes from normal students. Sports can let children understand the value of cooperation too, but the effects are relatively small. Indeed, some sort of sports require team members to join. For example, volleyball needs six people on the court to receive, set, and spike the ball separately. Being cooperative with teammates can give you more chances to win instead of fighting alone. However, not every sport requires teamwork. Marathon, for instance, is a kind of sport that competes with other players but does all the challenges by himself or herself. It is the quest for an individual's physical and mental limitations without teamwork. To be honest, the only thing those athletes put in mind while exercising is the ambition of chasing the win and fighting against other competitors. In conclusion, I think sports let children know more about the essence of being ambitious and competitive for glory, instead of learning the spirit of teamwork.