In some countries, only a few young people go to classical music concerts or play classical music. Why is this the case? Should young people be encouraged to attend those concerts and learn more about classical music?

In the modern day, classical music is not common among teenagers in some parts of the world so they spend less time and do not pay much attention to enjoying and learning this kind of music. This phenomenon is attributed to some reasons and I believe that studying more about classical music and taking part in those concerts regularly is necessary for the development of young people. On the one hand, there are several compelling reasons why classical music fails to attract young people. First and foremost, young listeners are generally unfamiliar with this kind of music mainly because it seems to be challenging for them to comprehend complex masterpieces or to be a part of a classical orchestra. Indeed, this genre is naturally sophisticated which usually demands its audiences to have a keen musical perception and life experience, which are less common among teenagers. Meanwhile, studying the classical genre requires a great deal of time and effort from learners in comparison with other kinds of music. For instance, it takes years of intensive training for one to perform just the intro of Nocturne by Chopin, whereas a complete beginner only needs a few months of infrequent practice to excel at covering mainstream songs from Taylor Swift. On the other hand, young learners need to be encouraged to learn more about classical music because of its advantages. To be more specific, it has been scientifically proven to boost creativity and concentration. This is because brain scanning has revealed that classical performances ignite various parts of the brain, of which many are linked with imagination and concentration. For example, in an experiment carried out at an Australian university, students who can play symphonies composed by Beethoven and Mozart tend to have a longer attention span of about 30 minutes compared to only 7 minutes of other students. These benefits are of paramount importance and would help classical music lovers to gain an advantage in their studies and work. In conclusion, all things considered, due to its complicated nature, classical music has gained less popularity amongst youngsters in some countries. However, I believe that learning more about this genre is essential for younger generations so this needs to be encouraged.