Social media is popular and used by many people. However, some people think that social media can be bad for mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the idea. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience

In this contemporary world, it is undoubted that social media has gained popularity and become an integral part of many individuals. However, a school of thought holds that it can have detrimental effects on people ’s mental health. In my opinion, I agree with this view. On the one hand, social media is undoubtedly a boon for many as it enables them to stay connected, share their ideas, and promote their businesses. To illustrate, students studying abroad can make video calls or post updates on Facebook, Instagram or other social networking sites to keep in touch with their families and friends at their own convenience. Thus, they can get support from their loved ones should any difficulty or emergency arise. Social media is also an invaluable tool for businesses to reach a larger audience and increase their brand awareness. For instance, small restaurants or eateries in Vietnam now utilize social media to advertise their food and attract more customers. As a result, the economy will be greatly improved. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that such platforms can have adverse bearings on people ’s lives. Although social media can help people widen their social circle, it is highly addictive and can make many people, especially young individuals, prioritize communicating via social media over face-to-face interactions. For example, a lot of adolescents and young adults in Japan now suffer from Hikikomori, a form of severe social withdrawal. Consequently, this may lead to a lack of family and friends interactions and people would suffer from loneliness or even depression. Moreover, due to its distracting nature, social media is now blamed for people ’s short attention span which not only reduces their productivity in work and study but also affects their well-being. Besides, reading news on such platforms can be stressful because not all information on social media is reliable as there is a lot of fake news propagated by criminals to baffle the public and negatively affect social stability. In conclusion, although social media is of great benefit in our modern world, I believe that it can have severe consequences on people ’s mental health. Therefore, I think people should use it wisely and moderately, and not let it dominate their lives.