Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and films about it than by actually visiting it How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn about another country by visiting it that you cannot learn by watching programmes and films about it

It is said that you can learn more about another country by watching television programs and films than by actually paying a visit. Personally, I suppose that statement is wrong in some aspects. And there are some things that holidaymakers only know about other countries beyond their hometown by visiting them in person. On the one hand, many TV shows create a good image in the eyes of the viewers and the drawbacks are often ignored. Nowadays, to promote tourism, countries always want people to gain insights into various cultures through interesting travel programmes, but sometimes they make untrue documentaries. For example, some television shows always introduce that people in a specific area are hospitable and friendly, but the truth is that tourists are ripped off by locals. In addition, a country always has many unique aspects of culture, cuisine, and so on, which spectators cannot grasp through the screen. On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that there are many things we cannot know just by watching TV, and we need to pay a visit there to understand them. Take traditional festivals of ethnic people as an example, through the screen, they can only know the activities of the festival, but if they go to that festival, they can participate in cultural practices and understand the meanings, and customs of the people here. Additionally, when actually visiting a region, they can meet and communicate with inhabitants here, and they can broaden their horizons about the lifestyles and cultures of residents who live there. In conclusion, programmes and films cannot provide audiences with deep insights into a country, and there are some aspects that holidaymakers who pay a visit have a chance to experience