Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and films about it than by actually visiting it. How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn about another country by visiting it that you cannot learn by watching programmes and films about it? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

I disagree that people will have more knowledge and acknowledge when they watch television shows and films than when they travel to those places. I will discuss the advantages of travel which they cannot feel by watching television in this essay. Obviously, watching television brings some benefits for viewers. If some people often watch TV shows or films, they could understand basic traditional cultures and prepare a little knowledge for themselves if they have a chance to go there. For example, viewers will know the greeting or lifestyle of local people. In Japan, when you meet local residents, you should bow instead of shaking hands or you should use chopsticks in meals. It will be fine instead of using spoons. Once you know the basic things, you have a prepared mentality before visiting there and can get used to the lifestyle to be confused. However, I think that people will learn more about another country by visiting it that is more important. If you have a chance to travel foreign countries, you will have a linguistic environment and experience new things. For example, if you travel to the UK, you can learn English faster than at home because they can meet and communicate with local people. Besides, they can explore or visit famous places which bring them reality experience when they look at wonderful sceneries instead of watching through television. In addition, visitors could learn to make some Western dishes, which will be guided directly by local residents or chefs, they do not need to learn through TV programmers or films. In conclusion, despite the advantages of watching TV, I personally believe that practical experience helps people have more knowledge and learn new things because they can meet, communicate directly with local residents and experience everything during travel time.