Some people claim that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. While others think that they can establish a minority community instead. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Globalization has made the world borderless and Immigration has become a popular trend in society. It is believed by a few Individuals that the immigrants should adapt to the culture and traditions of the host country, while others believe they should maintain their own culture and remain as a minority. In my opinion a balance of both can be fruitful. This essay shall discuss both views briefly and lastly, I shall discuss my opinion. Adopting a new culture can be beneficial in many ways. Firstly, it helps the newcomers to merge with society quickly. It is required because, without accepting the country's culture an immigrant may not get suitable jobs to survive. For instance, if an emigrant from the Middle East immigrates to a Western country and does not want to put on the appropriate attire of those countries, he may not get any jobs. Secondly, showing respect for the new country's culture is a holy duty for the migrants. As in most cases people immigrate for better opportunities, they should also show respect for the countries' existing culture and tradition. For example, many European footballers while playing for football clubs of the middle east country; put on their traditional dresses as a token of respect. Furthermore, it can prevent communal clashes. In other words, by accepting the foreign culture an immigrant can largely benefit. On the other hand, many believe that the foreign migrants should stay as a minority in the new society, because it helps them preserve their own traditions and values. This is due to the fact that there are many religious barriers which can conflict with the new culture. Adopting those can be impossible for many migrants. Studies have shown that, around 70% of muslims from different countries do not want to accept a plethora of cultures of a christian majority country. Moreover, when an immigrant completely gives up his inherited culture, may not go back to his country in the future. If mine immigrants are allowed to maintain their own cultural norms, they are likely to feel more secure. In my opinion people should be given with the freedom to choose their own preferences. The idea of complete transformation is not only an inhuman thought but also impractical. Conversely, the formulation of minority groups can result in various conflicts. If immigrants are given the flexibility and freedom to decide on their own, this may bring the best results. In conclusion, although a migrant need to adapt to the foreign culture due to various socio-economic reasons; however, they shouldn't expect to live as a minority group. I believe, immigrants should be given with the freedom and time to adapt themselves to the new country's culture, which might be beneficial for both parties.