The increasing housing problem in big cities has social consequences. Some people say that only government can solve this problem? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a result of modernization, more and more people tend to migrate from rural settlements to cities with the hope of searching for potential job opportunities and a better life. This trend leads to the increasing speed of population density in many metropolitan areas and poses an urgent housing problem in urban areas, which creates severe social repercussions. Some people suppose that only the government can solve these issues, while others argue that they cannot intervene in the free economy. From my perspective,  I completely agree that lawmakers can draft laws that can solve this problem. It is a matter of fact that leveraging the number of residents in big cities has had some social consequences for individuals. Firstly, the rising housing price in recent years has made it harder for middle- and lower-income classes to purchase a house in urban areas, leading to a rise in rents and criminal activity and a plummet in the quality of houses. Secondly, the high demand for the center’s accommodations also creates some environmental issues. As more houses are built, the number of parks and trees is decreasing, resulting in severe pollution. To illustrate this problem, air pollution in cities has become worse than ever these days, and the number of people who have respiratory problems has increased. Therefore, the authority, in order to prevent this situation and help out its citizens, should increase the minimum wage to help working people become able to afford to pay rent, especially in urban areas where housing expenses are extremely expensive. Then, more workers are able to purchase a good house. For example, last year in Sudan, the government raised the minimum wage, which helped decrease homelessness by approximately 10%. Therefore, by raising the wage of workers, the issue will automatically be mitigated. Additionally, the government should stop giving new permits to city developers. They should expand and develop new areas; therefore, some of the city’s people will move to the new area, which will gradually reduce the density problem. In conclusion, I approve that it is the responsibility of the officials to handle the social consequences of the density issue. By accelerating the minimum wage for workers and developing new areas for additional careers, this ultimate consequence can be solved better.