In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

high school students who already graduated are recommended to take a gap year before entering college. Working and travelling are suggested activities to do during that moment. This essay will suggest that having spare time to pick the right major before college is the biggest advantage of this, but losing your self-control because of these enjoyable activities is the primary disadvantage. Taking a suitable major for you in university is vital. That is a big decision to make because it is your stepping foot that leads you to your future. So it must be taken with serious consideration. Taking a break for one year gives you enough time to actually think about it. Aside from that, working or travelling are two activities you can do at the time. Travelling could bring you after the hectic era of school. Also, taking a job and having working experience in it will help you to know yourself in the professional area. So, it can bring you a scratch picture of what your future career wants to be. For instance, many students in university quit their major after semesters because they are too late to recognize their own desires. Long-timetime Long-time-time break sessions while travelling are refreshing and comforting. Also, The cosy job that you get can be a trap for you because you can be drugged into the laziness of life and lose your productivity. For instance, working in the service industry is a typical occupation that graduating high school can get. Some of them are stuck there with no advancement of career and forget their purpose in getting into college. In conclusion, leisure time before entering university gives you a chance to refresh yourself and focus on preparing a major to choose based on exploring on working area you have studied before. Despite these benefits, they must be cognizant of potential drawbacks that may arise for choosing this path like missing their motivation to get into college after getting a long holiday or job.