In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In some nations, several people receive significantly high paychecks. While certain groups of people argue that the government should have control over salaries and limit the amount that someone can receive, some others believe that high-earned income could benefit a state. This essay will elaborate on these points of view and argue in favour of the latter. On the one hand, a significant difference in the number of paychecks received by the employees could lead to some drawbacks. The main disadvantage is it could lead to inequality in society, which can affect the social condition. This situation is related to a famous phrase known as The rich become richer and the poor become poorer. If the government had clear regulations concerning payrolls, some workers would be paid proper amounts of wages. As a result, they are unable to experience a good quality of life, yet the employers would become more prosperous because they can pay a low honorarium to the workers. Thus, the aim of the control over wages is to ensure the prosperity of the employees. On the other hand, those who have a high income can be beneficial to a nation. Firstly, it can be advantageous to increase the amount of the state’s revenue through the tax mechanism. Some states are using the progressive tax instrument. To illustrate, the higher someone’s income, the more taxes they need to pay. By receiving extra profits through this technique, the authority could provide better facilities for those who are unfortunate, such as giving subsidies on groceries, which makes the price more affordable for all levels of society. Additionally, many infrastructures can be developed through this program. As an example, the healthcare system could be improved and become more accessible. Secondly, high fees can increase someone’s sense of motivation to work harder. Humans tend to pursue a better life, and money can be a good motivation for them to upgrade their lives. This condition allows them to become more independent and not rely on authority. In my opinion, the limit set up by the government could lower the urgency for some individuals to gain more decent lives. In conclusion, while uncontrolled salaries could potentially lead to a disturbance of social justice, having a high income provides some positive results to a nation through tax and becomes a stimulus to others to aim for higher income. Therefore, on balance, I believe that the authorities should not restrict the amounts people can earn, yet they need to control the system to ensure equality.