Nowadays techonology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly known that technological advancement leads to an ascending trend of monitoring people's devices such as tracking cellphones and security CCVs. In most circumstances, the controlling act took place without the monitored people acknowledging it. From my point of view, the benefits of this measure may outweigh the disadvantages. Although monitoring measures are indeed helpful in ensuring safety, the privacy of residents is heavily invaded as consent is not always in place. To be specific, images of strangers are captured by CCVs of a nearby house, which could be posted by the owners on social media platforms for monetary purposes. In some nations, this act could be considered as violating cyber laws; thus, jail sentences are possible for those types of crimes. Another negative aspect is that cellphone tracking could be used with the wrong intention. Blackmail is a perfect example of this aim as the victim was forced to voluntarily donate money or their voice recording would get leaked. One of the advantages associated with monitoring through electronic tools is that a higher level of safety can be reached in most situations where those devices are used. A good illustration of this is when houses are equipped with security cameras for theft prevention and external harm mitigation as the owners can observe suspicious movement via a screen and then contact the police immediately. Another beneficial impact is that criminal offenses can be caught quickly through the aid of a telephone tracker. For instance, in most countries, detectives and police successfully utilized phone call recording to track down the suspects, shortening their wandering duration in the communities. In conclusion, although some people may hold the view against monitoring, it seems to me that the potential benefits of it are more worthwhile than the possible dangers. Nevertheless, advanced technologies should be implemented with the right intention in all cases.