The development of toursim contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English become the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

In recent years, there has been a noticeable trend where many people believe that English will become the only language to be spoken on a global stage due to its prevalence in the tourism industry. In this essay, some merits and demerits of this concept will be examined. Evidently, making English the only language brings about numerous benefits. Firstly of all, mutual communication and the form of friendship may become more effortless. To explain, it is more convenient for people to discuss important issues and make friend when all of them speak English. This could also give rise to the disappearance of discrimination and other conflicts at workplaces since all employees and leaders make their ideas understandable by communicating in the same language. Another significant advantage of having English spoken globally is the limitation of obstacles in the cooperation between countries. When entering an international conference, for example, the leaders of some countries that do not speak English officially may face difficulties in translating their opinions to other leaders. This drawback will be solved perfectly if the world system uses English as the only language. There will be no misunderstanding of details and all the decisions will be accessible to humans. Nevertheless, this type of world also possesses some alarming threats. One of the most serious problems is the loss of cultural diversity. It is clear that language is one of the key factors to determine a country’s history, tradition, and originality. Without its own language, people of these countries may not know well about their ancestors or beautiful customs, which causes them not to preserve their precious values. Moreover, this could lead to high tension and massive disagreement among the citizens in some countries with old and rich culture. For example, Vietnamese, Indians or Chinese who take pride in their culture and tradition will liken this concept to the destruction of their countries and fight against this new system. This could threaten the peace and order that the world has maintained. In conclusion, the picture of having English as the only language includes both pros and cons. It is believed that every language has its own beauty and the world should figure out a more efficient way for countries to communicate besides preserving its mother tongue.