The arts, including art, music and theatre are considered to be important in society. Do you think the arts still have a place amongst our modern lifestyles? Should the arts be included in the school curriculum?

Many art disciplines, such as painting, music and theater, are considered crucial to society. This essay will discuss that art still holds a big part of our lives because of the satisfaction and the historical insights it provides us and it will state that children need to be taught about these disciplines at school. Art is important because it generates joy and it helps us understand things that happened in the past. Hearing someone sing or perform or looking at an aesthetically pleasing piece of art generates joy for us. On top of that, art goes beyond its looks since we also have to consider things like when was a painting done or a song was composed. This can tell us a lot about historical facts and how our society used to function. For instance, Michelangelo's sculptures were revolutionary and innovative considering the century in which these were made because of their realistic human-like features. Furthermore, it is significantly beneficial for children and teenagers to learn about the arts when they are young provided that it encourages creativity and other cognitive processes. Admiring and performing art improves physical skills and develops senses through experience, as well as expanding critical thinking and analysis. For instance, recent research shows that teaching children about art from a young age stimulates the right side of the brain which is responsible for creativity and intuition. In conclusion, I believe art is still a key aspect of our lives, since it teaches us about history and it makes us enjoy life more. Because of this and the benefits in our physical and cognitive development, art must be part of schools' curriculums.