In the future it may be necessary for us to live on other planets. For this reason, some people believe that we should spend money now researching planets that could be a possible home, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that people should allocate a budget for researching the possibility of living on Mars because in the future humans may need to find another planet to live on. This essay completely disagrees with this statement because we should focus on reducing emissions to prevent further environmental destruction and moving to Mars will need a huge amount of money. First and foremost, rather than trying to find another planet to live on, people should save the environment by lowering greenhouse gas emissions. These gases which are produced from various industrial and domestic activities are released into the atmosphere and they trap heat from the sun. The trapped heat will increase the global temperature which disrupts the climate and the mounting evidence shows that there is an increase in natural disasters due to hotter Earth temperature. Thus, authorities and people in general should join hand in hand to reduce and promote activities that produce zero emissions. For example, during the winter, Canadians use sewage water to heat buildings and save several megawatts of electricity which supports less emission to provide power. Moreover, migrating humans from Earth to another planet will cost a lot of money. This is because building a rocket that can withstand extreme pressure will require a lot of funding. In addition, the rocket also needs fuel to get enough power to launch and surpass gravity. Take into account, that SpaceX has conducted many rocket launch trials and not every trial is successful. They still research how to land their rocket after it was launched, so not every trial they should build a new rocket. This is proof that transporting people to space is difficult and requires a lot of funding, especially when all humans on Earth will be transported. In conclusion, the authorities and any stakeholders should rather invest in saving the environment by reducing greenhouse gasses rather than allocate a budget for research about living on another planet. Furthermore, it will need an unimaginable amount of money to realize the idea and it is better off to save the planet.