In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an egeing population outweigh the disadavantages?

Human’'s longevity is better than at any time in the past in many developed nations. While there are numerous benefits associated with living longer, the drawbacks of this trend overshadow the positives. A few advantages arise from this phenomenon. First of all, more older people will let companies have more options in recruitment; moreover, the elderly are often more experienced and have better knowledge than younger workforces. For instance, research focused on enterprise recruitment indicates that the age group 50-60 has the best performance in the company and they often take crucial positions such as senior managers. Older people at the age of 50-60 are often reliable, hard-working, and complain less than other age groups On the other hand, from my perspective, the negatives of this phenomenon outweighed the benefits. Because of the availability of older workers; younger are have fewer opportunities for their jobs; therefore, leading to an increase in unemployment. Furthermore, the elderly are incapable of doing highly required physical jobs. Secondly; governments in many countries have to spend more money on medical services for older people. It will come from taxes of younger age groups and it can turn out to be a financial burden. For example, the US proclaimed last year that higher taxes workers must pay are due to increased demand for free medical services for the elderly. In conclusion, as medicine and technology are developed significantly; humans tend to live longer. However, this trend may have many drawbacks that need governments involved to take it under control.