In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is a growing trend towards immigrating to cities among rural people in several countries around the globe. While there are some minor benefits associated with this development, I believe its drawbacks are more substantial. On the one hand, a potential advantage of this type of immigration for rural people may find more lucrative and decent jobs. Since the job opportunities in cities are greater, when people move from villages to urban areas, they are more likely to find a decent job and earn higher salaries. As a result, their life quality will improve. Moreover, rural people can benefit from the facilities provided in cities. For instance, they will have access to various medical centres or their offspring will be enabled to study in prestigious schools and universities. On the other hand, one primary negative effect of this growing trend is overpopulation in cities. In fact, a lack of proper infrastructure for a larger number of residents in many will give rise to serious issues that the local governments will encounter in the future. A case in point can be the congestion on the roads as well as the public transportation, especially during rush hour. As the population is growing in cities, city dwellers will find it hard to commute easily. A further example of the lack of infrastructure is the fact that by increasing the demand for property, the prices will rise as well and subsequently, most residents will not be able to afford the cost of living in cities. On balance, even though immigration from villages to cities would seem advantageous for rural people under certain circumstances, I am strongly of the opinion that the overall drawbacks in terms of overpopulation and its negative effects on all people will override the advantages