In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. What are the advantages and disadvantages of driverless vehicles?

AI technology has infiltrated all aspects of our lives, laying a foundation for all vehicles to operate autonomously without drivers. In the next decade, driverless vehicles will offer many benefits like a safer and faster journey for passengers while it will automatically create a gap in the labour market in the transportation industry. As a salient advantage, self-driving cars will eliminate the number of accidents that take place on the roads by human operators, therefore, saving millions of lives annually. Technology giants like Tesla, Google, and Amazon are heavily investing in AI-backed fully autonomous vehicles to streamline their delivery operations and increase customer satisfaction. To illustrate, semi-autonomous vehicles are currently being operated on the roads and the results are promising for future development. Tesla alone has recorded countless number of prevented accidents that are related to human errors by their uniquely designed AI software. Furthermore, another benefit of this technology can be experienced while travelling for long hours. Sleep is a crucial part of a driver's which takes one-third of their time and owing to the nature of AI technology, driverless vehicles can operate for long distances without any human intervention, thus saving a huge amount of time for travellers. On the flip side, the notion of whether AI will overthrow humans or not has long been a topic of discussion among people. In my view, an instantaneous transition towards autonomous vehicles will disrupt the existing employment market, resulting in millions of bus and taxi drivers losing their jobs in the race with AI. For example, according to the research, over 70% of all drivers will be substituted by autopilot technology, bringing about a catastrophic job shortage in the market. In conclusion, whilst the adoption of technologies like autonomous vehicles ensures a bright future for the transportation industry, it is crucial to acknowledge certain noticeable downsides, like the potential unemployment of drivers resulting from the introduction of driverless vehicles.