The governments should give each citizen a basic income so that they have enough money to live on, even if they are unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the government should regularly pay money to everyone so they can afford minimum living costs. While I disagree with paying each and every citizen, I do believe helping poor people for a period of time is a good social scheme. There are several reasons why I strongly believe a monthly donation to everyone is not considered as a good social plan to pursue. Firstly, paying a minimum wage which is decent enough to cover minimum expenses would result in billions of billions of monthly pay by the government which will collapse the financial system of the country. This money should be used to boost the economy and develop the infrastructures of cities. Secondly, statistic shows that over 50 per cent people are pretty well off and they do not need a monthly help as they can fully afford their expenses. Finally, a monthly pay which provides the minimum expenses may result in reluctance to seek jobs for some people and as a result some people will quit their jobs because of this convenient money. On the other hand, helping citizens with temporary financial challenges is undoubtedly a good supportive plan. There might be various ranges of people who are tight on money for reasons like losing their jobs, sickness or disabilities who need governmental support for a specific time. There will be different options for the government to collect money in order to support these people including levying tax on certain goods or people, or even paying it as a loan and taking it back in instalments whenever they find a job and their situation changes. This even can be a motivation to find a job sooner. In conclusion, I do not believe a monthly pay to each and every citizen will be practical, but supporting the less fortunate is a good plan to consider.