In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

In the modern era, economic development is given utmost importance by the regime, in comparison to other vital aspects such as healthcare and schools in certain nations. According to me, there are various pros and cons of this scenario, I will explain these with suitable examples in the upcoming paragraphs and thus will lead to a logical conclusion as well. To begin with the benefits, the most prominent one is that the GDP growth of the country is given major priority because it provides employment to the high amount of employees. As when the infrastructure of the nation comes under development then the indigenous individuals are offered various jobs. To exemplify, for economic improvement in India when the work of maintenance of public roads begins a large proportion of the masses are offered jobs at competitive prices. However, hospitals and education centres also need an equal amount of importance from the executives but unfortunately, these get neglected in such a scenario. On the other side, spending the utmost time and money on economic growth only is trivial as rulers need to concentrate more on improving the condition of humans who are living below the poverty line, even these individuals are deprived of basic necessities of life such as food, housing and clothes. For instance, in Utter Pradesh, India about 40 percent of the population was living in poverty as per the census report of 2020. But, the government officials indulged in developing new roads and bridges and are neglecting the needs of these people. Therefore, humanity needs to be given priority. Besides, administrators can make a clear budget for all the aspects and can make improvements accordingly for the betterment of the nation. To conclude, according to the matrimonials mentioned above one reaches the logical result that the benefits of economic development as major are instrumental indeed. But, its potential drawbacks should not overlooked either.