In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

An arising issue in recent decades relates to the shortage of food in many regions of the world even though there have been several breakthroughs in the agriculture field. From my perspective, some factors can lead to the current phenomenon and feasible solutions should be taken into consideration to tackle it. On the one hand, there might be two primary causes. First of all, the effects of global warming have detrimental consequences on farming productivity. In detail, lots of areas suffer from extreme weather conditions and regular natural disasters including earthquakes, tsunamis or storms,and the like often have poor-quality crops. To illustrate, in the waterways of Vietnam, floods and storms annually cause severe damage to the cultivation of rice leading to the poverty of residents. In addition, because of the abrupt shifts in the economy these days, the prices of daily meals are getting higher. Even though the amount of food produced is adequate for the global population, people in poor countries are still undergoing poverty and they can not afford the proper meals. On the other hand, there are some actions that can be implemented to address the issue. The first one is to develop some methods that help to warn and protect the harvest from the negative effects of the environment. In fact, seeds and plants being used nowadays have gone through a lot of research and trials so they have the ability to cope with undesirable environmental conditions. Another way is that governments of developed nations could provide the underdeveloped ones with financial or food subsidies. Furthermore, it would be very useful if they sent experienced scientists and experts to areas struggling with the consequences of natural effects to find possible approaches to increase foodstuff production. In conclusion, climate change and the rising price of foodstuff are the major reasons for famine and to solve the situation, more innovations should be applied to adapt to the environment and give more support to underprivileged nations.