Some people believe that old people should take part in sport to stay healthy. Others think there are better ways for old people to stay healthy. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that elderly people should engage in sports activities in order to stay fit, while others think it is possible to become healthy by taking different steps. I completely agree with the latter idea due to several reasons. Doing exercises can indeed be beneficial all around. This activity can improve old people ’s well-being both physically and mentally. Firstly, it can cure people from the inside by promoting blood circulation, digestion, bone density, hair and skin quality which results in elder people being more mobile and feeling younger themselves. In addition to this, their daily activities get much easier like going up and down stairs or standing up from the sofa. For example, the research conducted in the USA shows that old people who do daily exercises like yoga or running can handle everyday housework better compared to their counterparts. Besides, it is obvious that when people can not function properly throughout the day, their self-confidence and self-esteem decrease dramatically causing depression or stress. This tells us that if people do not have such problems, their emotional well-being is more likely to be in a good state. But in my view, elderly people can still be healthy by changing their daily lifestyle. Firstly, they can start having a proper diet which is rich in adequate nutrition like protein, and carbohydrates. At the same time, they shouldn’t forget to hydrate themselves with enough water as well. These are all because it’s well-admitted by everyone that we are what we eat. Secondly, they need to improve their sleep quality. It’s recommended for elderly people to sleep at least 8 hours at night since many statistics illustrate it might have a negative effect on their everyday lives if they don’t follow this suggestion. Finally, I think old people have more downtime to relax or engage in different hobbies as many of them retire after 60, which means that they can spend that time fishing, gardening, repairing or just going for a walk in nature. In my opinion, these activities are almost similar to doing sports or even much better, because they require old people to take physical action and it’s also something they love doing. In conclusion, doing sports can indeed bring about health benefits to elderly people, but I think by just having a better lifestyle and doing something they love they can still be healthy both physically and emotionally.