Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In present days, some substitute medicines and treatments have been widely used by a lot of patients to solve their health problems rather than visiting their regular doctors. The cheaper option has become one of the reasons behind the popularity of alternative medicine among patients. Whilst, the drawback could harm some people. It appeared that the practitioners might come from a non-medical degree and it creates a subsequent severe impact. Seeing the impact on some people, I believe this has created serious drawbacks rather than benefits. People believe that alternative medications have helped a lot of middle-to-low groups with certain diseases. It believes that this kind of treatment is an affordable option instead of splurging a lot of money on a hospital bill. Moreover, many patients most likely opt to create an instant result by taking alternatives. For instance, a case in one of East Java’s sub-urban is having an orthopaedic problem. Unfortunately, based on the doctor, this case will take around 5 to 6 months of therapy, whereas, the alternatives will guarantee her 1 to 2 months of therapy. Hence, someone who needs a quick result will choose the alternatives rather than the hospitals. However, it is believed that the substitute medication could harm the number of patients both in the present day and in the long run. A particular reason is because of the lack of competencies owned by alternative practitioners. An example is one of the alternative practitioners who has been practised in one of West Sumatra’s villages and it is proven that the practitioner came with a non-medical degree and certainly did not have any licence in medicine. As he has done several medical malpractices, it will create another severe impact on the patients in the long run, namely permanent disability or even worse death. In conclusion, The substitute of medications creates more drawbacks rather than benefits. The disadvantages consist of medical malpractice done by some of the practitioners and creates severe impacts: permanent disability and death.