Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In several countries is normal for teenagers once finish school to enrol themselves on military service. Some people argue that this policy is a good idea, as well as included in these programs for women. However, there are other groups that are against these laws. I completely agree with this statement, which helps to adapt habits of discipline and respect for others, and the feeling of patriotism not just in men, as well as women. Nowadays, our society faces different problems like terrorism, wars, health issues etc. However, one thing in common in each country when trying to attend to those problems is to support themselves in the army forces. That decision is not just related to force and weapons, it is more to the preparation that each member of the army had passed, which includes workout, but also, discipline and service to the community. Include mandatory military services for both genders, permits created a community more conscious about providing help to others and discipline and respect for public entities. For instance, in Colombia where military service is not optional, we can see that the people believe in democracy and respect the army because have found support in them in the worst moments. It is for that that I agree with the idea that this kind of policy should be adopted in other countries. Furthermore, there is no doubt that once you finish your service, your ideas about your country have changed. After that, each person has the feeling of patriotism and the idea to work to improve their nation. Indeed, governments know that and we can see many policies related to veterans. For instance, in North America, there exists a national holiday to celebrate Veterans Day, additionally, the private sector adopts measures to highlight their labour, including their political benefits like discounts or preferences in case to apply for a job. In conclusion, I completely agree that military service should be compulsory for young men and women in all countries, which permits the consolidation of any society with its army.