More and more people are opting for readymade food intead of freshly home cooked food. Discuss advantageous and disadvantages?

Never have so many people relied mainly on pre-cooked meals rather than prepared at home as they do nowadays. This essay will suggest that the main advantages of this growing propensity are the time being saved and the variety of meal options it guarantees, while the poor quality and rising inability to cook among young people are its prime drawbacks. Readymade meals are not only a time-saving option but also serve a broad variety of food to be consumed by an individual, depending on one's preferences. In that case, a person does not need to spend time cooking, which is undoubtedly a time-consuming process and thus, can use this time more efficiently, for example working on a project or playing with a child. Besides, pre-cooked meals are an excellent option for families where some have special diet restrictions, such as lactose intolerance or vegetarianism, and it is hardly possible to prepare daily meals for each member of the family. Under these circumstances, pre-cooked meals might be a significant convenience for a family. Despite those advantages, previously prepared food undoubtedly presents certain drawbacks primarily the lack of nutrients provided, and secondly a decrease in the ability to cook among young people opting for out-dining food. As readymade food is usually prepared massively, it does not include any valuable vitamins or nutrients. A good illustration of this are fast food restaurants, such as KFC or Burger King, which despite the speed at which they prepare their meals, are mainly known for the poor quality of food they offer. In addition, the growing popularity of pre-cooked food made youngsters cook more and more rarely. As a consequent decreasing number of teenagers is not capable of preparing themselves a meal. To conclude, although readymade meals are undoubtedly a time-saving option and guarantee a possibility to choose from a wide variety of meals on a daily basis, it is not without its drawbacks, including a poor standard of food and a disappearance of cooking ability among young people.