Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Internet and multiple modern devices were invented in order to facilitate contact between people. While some argue that these technologies have allowed individuals to interact more with each other, others strongly disagree. This essay will examine both positives and negatives of it and explain why the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, the possibility to easily reach people that are physically far away is one of the most amazing benefits of computing instruments. About half a century ago it would be unbelievable to think that two relatives in different continents could video call each other using a small smartphone, for example. This allows friendships to be maintained even when there is a wide distance gap. Secondly, internet provides multiple ways to search for friends that were lost in time. With the help of websites such as Facebook or Instagram, it is easy to reconnect with old friends and cultivate relations that otherwise would be lost. On the other hand, if not used with expertise, technology can also pull people apart. Alongside the popularity of working from home, for instance, multiple employees do not get the opportunity to have some face-to-face time with colleagues. In a similar way, some people end up staying a lot more in their houses, since even shopping can be done online without talking to anyone. These scenarios may lead to a feeling of loneliness and translate in higher shares of depression worldwide. In summary, recent communication instruments allow users to overcome distance and loss of contact although sometimes they might decrease face-to-face interaction. In my opinion, if used carefully, they represent an enourmous opportunity for people to improve their social skills and contacts.