In the future, nobody will buy printed newspaper or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people are of the opinion that, in the future, there will be no one left buying physical newspapers or books because individuals will be able to read whatever they want online without any price. Personally, I totally agree with this viewpoint because printed newspapers and books are expensive and not environmentally friendly. It is becoming more common to read online due to their easiness and cheapness. To begin with, printed newspapers and books are not reasonable to buy. Firstly, it is so expensive that most people can' t even afford it. This is because paper prices have increased due to the lack of trees. For example, in Singapore, only one tree price is equal to a laptop and as a result, the citizens can' t afford any paper-based material including newspapers and books. Secondly, it is not environmentally friendly. Most of the printed newspapers and small books are thrown away after reading. This causes a huge pollution in big cities where people live most. Because of these drawbacks of physical newspapers and books, people will tend to access them online without considering prices. On the other hand, reading newspapers and books online has some benefits. Individuals don' t have to go for miles to buy them because they will be able to access them anytime they want. Moreover, they will be able to read it even wherever they want because they won' t have to carry them. Another advantage is it will be more beneficial for the poor people too because it will be free of charge. For instance, it will be extremely advantageous for Nigerian citizens because according to research, 89% of the citizens of Nigeria can' t access any newspapers and books due to the prices. To conclude, I totally believe that in the future, printed newspapers and books will be replaced by online newspapers and books and it will be more beneficial because of economic, environmental and accessibility reasons.