The use of personal cars has increased more than ever before but this use of cars causes many problems. What are those problems? To reduce these problems, should we discourage people to use cars? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Recently, the number of private cars possessed has been getting higher than before. Although it is creating many problems in society such as increasing traffic congestion, however, it is more private and comfortable for long journeys. In this essay, I will examine the pros and cons of having personal vehicles while giving my opinion along in a summary. Owning private conveyance has become a phenomenon, particularly in cities. However, the usage of personal vehicles has contributed to traffic congestion. The population in cities is crowded and it worsens with each person using personal cars which surely will increase the traffic congestion, even make it worse. The increase in this condition is associated with stress levels because individuals have to spend more time commuting because of getting stuck in traffic jams for more hours. For example, in Jakarta, to go to my office, I need to spend more than 2 hours by public transport because there is an elementary private school in which one student is transported using one car which causes heavy traffic congestion. On the other hand, possessing private cars is also beneficial, particularly for people who want to drive on long journeys. It can shorten the time and it is more convenient. For instance, when I go to my hometown, it is more comfortable using my personal car than using public transportation like a bus. I can drive it and take a rest whenever I want. Most importantly, it becomes more private because it is only my family and I during the journeys, not others involved. In conclusion, the increase in possessing personal cars has positive and negative points from both views. We can not stop people from buying private conveyance, instead, to overcome the negative impacts such as traffic congestion, the government should establish policies to encourage people to use public transportation more than private vehicles. The more people using public transportation, the more traffic congestion can be curbed. As a result, the stress level will be decreased.