Some people think that economic progress is the only way to end poverty while others believe that it is causing damage to the environment and so should be stopped. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that the economic progression threatens the environment and should be ceased. Conversely, others think that supporting economic growth is the only way to put an end to poverty and this essay agrees with this statement because a positive climate provides employment to people. On the one hand, many industrial activities that drive the wheels of the economy cause harm to the environment. This is because many factories use energy to produce their products. The electricity to power up the machinery is generated by burning coals and during the process they release greenhouse gasses into the atmosphere. Their freight also uses fossil fuels to deliver the products across the country. Burning fossil fuels contributes to the carbon emission which increases the global temperature. For example, many factories in the Rungkut Industry Area require electricity to power the production equipment. This electricity is supplied by a coal-fired power plant in East Java. However, in 2019, the government compelled these manufacturers to plan on emission reduction and saving energy programs. This measure was taken to lower their impact on the environment. On the other hand, these businesses absorb many workers and provide jobs for people. Without these, the unemployment rate will be high and residents will face difficulty finding a job let alone to afford living necessities. Many of them will live under the poverty line and criminalities will be high. Individuals who are pressured by unfavourable conditions will choose to rob to get money. In contrast, take into account, that the majority of Singaporeans live above the minimum standard and the country has a low number of criminal cases. Therefore, this essay believes that ceasing economic activities is not the right thing to do because they support the livelihood of people. In conclusion, although activities related to economic growth contribute to the Earth’s damage, stopping the progress to end poverty is not the right way to address the problem because it will disrupt employment rates and cause individuals to lose their source of income.