Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that there should be a standardized punishment for every type of criminal act because it allows the court to have equal rules. Others think that the perpetrator’s background should be considered and this essay believes that some crimes are driven by unfavourable situations thus they do not have other choices. On the one hand, people think that justice can be achieved by implementing fixed punishments for every illegal action. This measure is taken to create equal consequences for each level of violation. This enables judges to sentence a fair verdict. The regulations warn the public and prevent them from doing illegal actions without considering whether it is in a small or huge amount. For example, robbing people’s money is still a crime whether it is only $1 or $100 and the criminals should receive the punishment. However, in some countries where their residents suffer poverty, many criminal cases are driven by economic difficulties. Therefore, they violate the law to stay alive. On the other hand, one case to another will be different based on the motivation and the condition of the perpetrators. Some of them may not want to break the rules, however, they are pressured by their condition and they do not receive enough support from the government. Therefore, they left no choice but to violate the law. For instance, due to poverty and very low income, a father in Cincinnati who cannot provide enough money for his family, rob a store to get a pack of rice. Compared to those who do robbery because they need money to gamble, that father’s case holds different moral considerations. This essay thinks that it is important to punish those who break the law not only by the type of crime but also by circumstantial situations. In conclusion, although sentencing the same punishment for every type of violation allows the judges to deliver an equal verdict, the backgrounds that drive someone to act against the regulations should be considered to have better fairness.