Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. What is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative developmnet?

Nowadays, it has become a daily occurrence that children spend most of their time playing on their gadgets. As they are in the age where they crave for excitement, smartphones provide them unlimited entertainment and this can be seen as a negative development because children are stuck in their own world without befriending other people. Children like to play with smartphones a lot because they can be easily entertained. This happens because phones allow them to download games or watch YouTube which has numerous contents for them to see. Because of these various entertainments, they can explore more things that they do not have in their surroundings. For example, children do not have to buy a plane toy when they can just play aircraft game on their phones. While smartphones offer children unlimited entertainment, this constant exposure to screens has concerning implications for their social development. This is due to the fact that they become incapable of socializing with their surroundings, resulting in a lack of awareness of social cues and occasional outbursts of tempers. For instance, once their phones are taken away they are likely to throw a tantrum because they lost their source of joy. Moreover, as they are growing up, they will feel isolated to their environment as gadget is their only company. In conclusion, the high rates of children spending hours on their phones occur because they seek something fun and entertaining. However, the ramifications of this behavior can be substantial, ranging from impaired social skills to a potential sense of isolation as they confine themselves to their digital realms.