Many people believe that electric vehicles are the future of transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using electric cars?

Nowadays, a significant portion of our population claims that cars powered by electricity represent the next generation of transportation. The purpose of this essay is to present the environmental benefits and drawbacks associated with the final cost of this kind of vehicle, highlighting the reasons for each one of them. On the one hand, electric vehicles are eco-friendly, leading to a lower environmental impact during their operation than those moved by fossil fuels. This is because electric cars do not consume fossil fuel, and, as a consequence, do not emit pollutant components due to gas combustion, avoiding damage to the atmosphere. To mention, CO emitted during cars ' fuel combustion is the major contributor to the greenhouse effect, resulting in global warming. Moreover, they are powered by electricity, which may be generated through renewable sources, such as hydropower and solar energy, causing no damage to nature, in contrast with offshore oil and gas production, which may cause damage to oceans and marine wildlife. On the other hand, electric cars are more expensive than regular ones. The reason behind it is that they demand cutting-edge technology, which exponentially increases its final cost. Additionally, their maintenance is also highly expensive, and it requires specialized professionals, making it even less affordable. To illustrate, Tesla, the most famous electric car these days, is still extremely pricey, making it inaccessible to middle-class families worldwide. To sum up, vehicles driven by electric power will be, for many people, the main transport mode in the years to follow. Despite the disadvantages related to its high cost, electric cars present significant advantages, especially those associated with their low environmental impact, which are particularly relevant for a more sustainable world.