Humans are responsible for a variety of environmental problems, but can also take steps in order to reduce the damage caused to the plandlet. This essay will discuss environmental problems, the role of government and individual in addressing this issue affecting the planet.

Our earth is getting older and as humans do, its degeneration is merely inevitable. Humans, as the only living things on this planet who are gifted with logical thinking, are also the ones responsible for taking care of it. Meanwhile, people and their humane traits to take and harvest from this planet are sometimes cruel. We tend to forget to give back to Mother Nature. Global warming, some may propose that it will happen eventually anyway. That being said, our irresponsible action may accelerate its process. For instance, deforestation, a lot of folks know that it comes with adverse effects, immediately or far in the future. The direct effect is smoke, as in what happened in Kepulauan Riau, Sumatra back in 2015. That is the horror created by inhumane people driven only by greed. Lumpur Lapindo is another frightening tale begun by human error. Started by a sloppy miner and careless leader who underestimates the dangerous side of doing the wrong thing to the environment. They did not do a thorough preparation before their work. Hence, Mother Nature wanted to take back what they tried to take. Thus, for our children and children's children, we need to make a change. As individuals, small actions are never too small. We can undo the wrongs and slow the process of our earth's retirement. This can be done by doing simple things such as: wise use of energy, using fewer plastics, or better yet moving to reusable tools instead, separating our trash, making our surroundings greener, and so on. All things considered, these small deeds may feel hard to bear when we do it alone. It can feel frustrating as we feel that it will not bring any transformation because we do it only by ourselves. Therefore, we need the support of our government. If we want to make a great change, we must take others with us. The burden is that sometimes other people do not understand the importance of it. This is where the stakeholders step in. By raising the awareness of our current environmental situation. And also, if needed, giving the people written rules complete with clear and intolerable punishment for those who did harm to our surroundings.