In the future, nobody will buy printed books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A significant number of people prefer to read online books than printed books. As a result, few argue that nobody will buy physical books in the days to come. Personally, I disagree with the statement because in reality, people still have to pay for e- books and some readers prefer physical books for personal reasons. The massive growth of the internet has resulted in many things, one of them is the existence of e- books. Just like any other books, online books contain the exact same materials as the physical ones. The only difference is people read them through online platforms like their phones, kindles or tablets. Even though it is indeed easier for e- books to get pirated, governments have become more strict regarding e- books regulations these days. For instance, they have removed several websites that are illegally operated by giving access to users to download books freely. Hence, people still have to purchase the story that they want to read and generally, its price is exactly the same as the printed version. On top of that, the majority of people opt for physical books for sentiment and personal reasons. Readers say that the feeling they experience when reading books directly is different than reading them from their phones. It is more real, intimate and gives a deeper meaning. This is then proven by recent research from the University of California that shows 70% of its students are still collecting physical books and would rather read them than using any online platforms. Other than that, bookstores are everywhere and the public still visits bookstores frequently. Seeing that success, it seems like they will thrive even more and will open many new branches in the future. That alone already proved how much people are still willing to shop for books. In conclusion, physical books are still relevant and will likely stay so in the future. E- books only add more variety of options for people to read and in my perspective, it will not threaten the availability of printed books in any way.