Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has negative effects on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The growing use of digital devices in communication affects people's abilities to read and write. Some people are concerned about some negative impacts regardless of the potential benefits that they could gain from this trend. I partially agree with this, for their degrading literacy although computers and mobile phones sometimes promote their communication with frequent exchange of messages online. On the one hand, the spread of electronic gadgets can have a detrimental effect on people's abilities to read and write as they are less likely to grasp the significant message of a story or a thesis. In other words, the lack of vocabulary and comprehension skills makes it difficult for them to connect one idea with another, not knowing what messages authors intend to convey. For instance, it has been made apparent by the proof that the average scores of language by pupils declined dramatically from 5 in 2020 to 3 in 2024. Since more young adults are used to scanning only short sentences about casual life including school, friends and holidays in the message box, they tend to indicate some frustration when it comes to reading long academic articles on history and science. This damages their critical thinking as they are more reluctant to spend time contemplating abstract ideas and logic with a lot of jargon. On the other hand, the increasing dependence on modern tools does not necessarily lead to their lower reading and writing skills as people engage in more communicative activities on the Internet. Indeed, as smartphones have become essential tools for communication, many young people interact with each other as they frequently exchange written messages and private photos on SNS such as Facebook and Instagram to build intimate relationships. Furthermore, they are often expected to respond more instantly to random comments continuously posted by friends and family, which encourages them to spot the intentions of others and verbalize their feelings in a limited time. Therefore, they are able to articulate themselves better thanks to the constant habit of using electronic gadgets to connect with other people. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that there is potential damage to young adults reading and writing due to their growing reliance on digital devices as they are less patient in reading sophisticated books. However, they sometimes promote their communication skills with the rising need to understand various information as well as respond more quickly to a fast-changing world.