Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Today many people choose to work for themselves rather than for others. This can be caused by various reasons, but the main one is due to the fact that many companies offer a poor work balance between private and professional life. Nevertheless, such a choice can present possible disadvantages. Firstly, people who are doing a corporate job often find it difficult to balance between their work and personal life. In the past, when competition was only within a country, most jobs required a minimum of 8 hours a day. However, now a lot of employers oblige their workers with additional work owing to the rising competition in the global market. The second cause that might be noted, in my view, is the framework of an average job, where repetitive work is encouraged restricting individuality and it can be a problem for some people. Nevertheless, such choices can lead to many problems and expectations do not usually tackle with a reality. The main problem with self-employment is the work is not available mostly and there can be ups and downs in pay, in comparison with a corporate job. As a result, most of them give up after a month. Additionally, a lot of these so-called adventurers make such a decision inconsiderately without a safety net for presumable negative outcomes. Hence, when they encounter the real market, they find it hard to get fair pay for their endeavors. To conclude, although such decisions can have a positive outcome in the long term, but this is only possible after thorough consideration and planning.