International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Write at least 250 words.

The travel industry has experienced a major boom over the past 10 years due to globalization and better living standards for people around the world. As a result, the most visited countries take economic advantages and conversely, their tourist attraction negatively impacts the local community and environment. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of international tourism and give my opinion, on why many places positively evolved through the development of tourism. On the one hand, the rising influx of holidaymakers is the main reason for the pollution of many places around the world. Travelling people litter on their vacations a lot and leave their holiday destinations full of trash. Moreover, the hotels and entertainment places near them produce more waste during the tourist period as they use non-eco-friendly advertising supplies for visitors. Because of this, the locals can hardly manage the recycling and the influx of garbage. For instance, on Bali Island, there is a government restriction for tourists visiting the Island as they destroy the natural environment. On the other hand, the economic boost that accompanies a successful travel industry shows advantages on the life and work of the local community. The more travellers visit a country, the more local economies develop and the more profits the country itself. Having said that, local entrepreneurship can show dramatic increases such as developing businesses, and opening new spaces and partnerships with other entrepreneurs. Take my country by the way of example, wherein the most visited city – Samarqand due to the number of incoming tourists built a modern tourist centre, which provided jobs and developed the rural town. In conclusion, it can be said that the travel industry nowadays has moved beyond entertainment and shows the impact on the economy, environment and infrastructure. The cities balance the budget and open the horizon for the local community through holidaymakers. At the end of the day, tourism as a profitable sector will prosper despite of mentioned disadvantages.