Once children start school, teachers have more influence on their intellectual and social development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Beginning formal education is a milestone in children ’s lives. It is often argued that teachers play a more important role in developing intellectual and social skills in school-age children. I strongly agree with this attitude. Teachers are specifically trained to improve communication and mental skills in students. These qualified teachers can recognize children ’s weaknesses and address them by taking suitable measures. For instance, giving presentations in class and doing group activities assist shy students to improve their self-confidence. Similarly, debating about controversial topics as well as doing math and intelligence tests, implement analytical thinking in children ’s minds. Ultimately, such a structured approach compels children to value their teachers ’ opinions more than the others. Conversely, some might argue that parents maintain their dominant influence on developing these skills in children.They may think that telling bedtime stories about communication and doing puzzles, are all children need. Furthermore, they may emphasize prolonged hours that children spend at home with their parents, as an opportunity to enhance these skills. Admittedly, I acknowledge the valued points of this argument and highlight the parents ’ complementary role. Still, I believe that children are more influenced by teachers. Not only can parents ’ stories and games be boring, but they might also work ineffectively. Additionally, many busy parents do not spend much time with their children at home. Even worse is that some parents might apply corporal punishment when they face children ’s mistakes. Conversely, since instructors have profound insight into individual differences, they can understand children ’s limitations, ignoring minor mistakes to bring out the best in them. In conclusion, I firmly believe that teachers have a greater influence on school children ’s social and intellectual skills, due to their academic knowledge and appropriate tactics. Parents, but play a complementary role.