Ambition is a positive quality for people to have in society today. How important is it for people who want to succeed in life? Is it a positive or negative characteristic?

The driving force that keeps people motivated to pursue their dreams is what some term as ambition. Everyone needs that energy that constantly urges them on when times are difficult or uncertain about the course of action. Our past experiences or future aspirations are typically what fuels that aspiration. This essay will discuss the importance of ambition and throw more light on it’s positive and negative characteristics. To begin with, everyone needs that enthusiasm to ensure that they are able to complete a task or pursue an agenda. Consequently, without intense desire, there is no dedication nor the will to successfully see a mission through. Also, it perpetually reminds you of your future aspirations and constantly challenges your creativity to find solutions to obstacles that come your way. For example, people thought that the commercial production of batteries capable of charging vehicles for long hours was only a dream. We needed highly ambitious individuals such as Elon Musk to show us the way. Unfortunately, too much longing can drive people to cheat or commit a crime. Let’s say, a highly ambitious athlete, who is so engrossed in winning all competitions, would take performance-enhancing drugs to win. Similarly, an overly motivated individual could literally clear anybody who gets in his way. Ultimately, an unbridled lust devoid of morals or ethics is a recipe for disaster. To conclude, we all need to be highly motivated in order to be successful at what we do. Unfortunately, if not checked properly, an overly ambitious person may not act in an ethical manner.