POPULATION: The number of people who decide not to have children has increased greatly Do you think this is a positive or negative development

Many couples in this generation deliberately choose to become childless upon realizing the benefits of it. They tend to be free from responsibilities and desire to live their lives in a more carefree manner. I agree that this trend has indeed become more beneficial not only to individuals but to the community as well. To start with, people who choose not to have children have a more stress-free lifestyle. They are able to spend more time on their hobbies or travel to different places without worrying about the needs and comfort of their young ones. Furthermore, these couples have more leisure time to devote unto themselves to do other productive activities like honing their skills or doing better in their jobs and producing better outputs. Due to the amount of spare time they have, they are able to reflect properly on their lives. Moreover, being childless is more practical nowadays. With the increase in prices and standard of living, couples who do not have children no longer need to spend money for childcare, or child education. These couples are able to fix their socioeconomic status and the money supposedly spent on their would-be children is now saved up or spent on themselves for their own leisure. In addition to this, the government is also benefited by being able to control the population growth and the scarcity of resources would be mitigated due to the decrease in population. In summary, the decision not to bear a child is indeed advantageous to every individual's personal and professional development. What's more, is that it also greatly benefits the government in a number of ways hence, I maintain that not having children is a positive development.