Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books at all times, and they think it is a waste of time to read any entertainments books.What is your opinion about this?

As someone who loved reading books growing up, I believe that books are essential and very useful in many ways. While I do agree that serious educational books are great because the main purpose of the book itself is for educational purposes, I believe people, in this particular context, children, can also get new knowledge from reading entertainment books. Besides, even if one reads any books that do not serve educational purposes as a main goal, I do not think it is a way of wasting someone's time as long as the book is suitable for one's age, understanding, and mental condition. Reading, in fact, is a great way to spend time, especially for children, and it would be even greater if they could find a source of entertainment through books.   Another thing to add is that entertainment books such as storybooks, magazines, comics, and others often give out information in a more interesting way for children than serious educational books, making it easier for children to grasp new information. In my opinion, if parents expect or force their children to read only serious educational books, it may be boring for the children and then develop into an activity that they are not excited about. Furthermore, because reading can be useful in many ways, I believe that if parents want their children to grow up thinking that reading a book is an enjoyable activity to do, they have to make their children comfortable reading books by letting them explore various kinds of books, not only books that serve serious educational purposes. It is important for parents or older figures to discuss with children what kind of content they enjoy or want to explore more and find a book that matches their interests, or they could introduce children to new things through books that could catch their children's attention. Thus, based on my opinion, I do not agree with parents who think reading any entertainment book is a way of wasting time. In fact, I think it is very suitable for children because it could develop their interest in reading books.