Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the digital era, the improvement and advancement of technologies have provided various kinds of services, such as monitoring through cellphone tracking and security cameras. Due to this, there are several benefits and downsides emerged. From my standpoint, I believe that the monitoring practice brings more harm rather than benefits. To start with, technological improvement has been an integral part of society that has been utilized in various fields. Thus, it brings advantages, especially when it comes to the monitoring process. For instance, people will easily file complaints when they face sexual harassment with evidence from security cameras. Further, it increases the level of traceability and the process of finding the perpetrator more convenient. As a result, crime cases will decrease drastically with the quality of the police's reliability rising. Another benefit is the easiness of finding things to buy due to the customisation made by cell phones. For instance, when a person wants to buy a wallet and say it to a friend by text, a few moments later, there will be a wallet advertisement pops up automatically. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks as well which are prominent. Firstly, a higher chance of misuse of data by unresponsible parties. Data is a fundamental part of every existing human creature, especially data that contains private instruments. For instance, there are several cases of online robbery due to the breach of data in large amounts of money. An online robbery case is one of the most common and hard to trace due to the large scope of the digital world. As a result, the victims' possibility of getting the money back is in a small percentage. Secondly, the rampant monitoring practices allow obsessive people to do stalking. This kind of people will do everything and take advantage of it to harm their targeted individuals. There are rapid cases of stalking, especially in countries with an abundance of security cameras. The stalkers will misuse the security cameras to track the target to know their daily activities, thus attacking them in vulnerable situations. Furthermore, in the long run, it will create an unsafe society full of digital crimes and stalkers. In conclusion, monitoring practices through technology can be a double-edged sword which results in various positive and negative effects on society in general. Nonetheless, the drawbacks do outweigh the benefits of shaping a scary environment full of online crimes and stalking activities.