In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this massage?

People in several cultures believe that working hard leads youngsters to attain whatever they want. While I agree that trying hard is essential for everyone to achieve their goals, it cannot guarantee an inevitable positive result and children should be aware of feasible failure. So, in my point of view, the disadvantages of this belief outweigh its advantages. Believing in anything can be gained by trying hard has some positive impacts on children. Perhaps the main influence is that children can gain a strong desire and aspiration to pursue their aims. As a result, they put their best foot forward to excel in everything. Another influence is that when children are instilled to be able to achieve their passions, their confidence has increased and they trust in themselves and their abilities. Thus, they need to know that every step is taken in life to acquire their aspirations impacts their lives beneficially. In spite of all the benefits mentioned above, I believe that this belief is wrong and affects youngsters negatively. It simply causes them to have a high expectation of themselves and consider big goals which cannot be achieved just by being hard-working as other factors are important to take into account such as the atmosphere they live in and monetary conditions. Moreover, children should be aware of the chance of failure. It is because if they do not succeed, they will end up with depression and nervous breakdown. For example, when I prepared for the university exam, I was assured that if I studied 12 hours each day then, I could achieve admission to a top university. I Have never achieved that goal. Consequently, I lost my confidence and I thought I was not intelligent enough. In conclusion, the drawbacks of thinking that everything can be achievable by endeavor are more than its benefits as it causes youths to encounter unexpected failure which might make them give up to keep their hope alive to continue their attempts.