**oth government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly.** **Do you agree or disagree with this statement?** Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Pollution is a serious global problem although pollution which is caused by traffic is one which it can be tackled. I would agree that the main way of doing this would be to invest in public transport systems. However, there are also other ways. People need to travel in order to go to work. Many people choose to travel to work in private cars which cause traffic jams in many cities twice a day, but also more serious problem. The fumes from these cars cause air pollution and this results in poor quality, harmful air in our cities. These fumes are also a major cause for global warming. If people use public transport instead of driving then this problem would be dramatically reduced.Cost and convenience are big factors in people ’s choice of transports. For this reason governments need to invest money to ensure that they have a transport system which is more effective than having private car. This means that the transport system is reliable and can be transporting large numbers of people around the city cheap and fast. An example of a well developed system is in Tokyo where millions of people rely on public transport there rather than driving themselves. An alternative solution to the problem is to encourage the use of electric cars. We already have the technology to produce electric cars which they do not produce any fumes so do not result in air pollution. Governments could encourage people to use these cars more.In conclusion, public investment in subsidized public transport infrastructure is certainly vital in order to stop pollution. However there are also some other alternatives with cleaner technology.