In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

In today digital's age, the priority of choosing to purchase foreign food become gradually favoured rather than local food. This writer believes that the perceived quality and safety standards of imported food is the reason for this situation. The solution to solve this problem is advertising local products. It must be understood that opting for food from different countries due to its quality and safety. This includes not only being high- quality foods but also containing substances which help people's bodies to be healthy. This, in turn, has increased and attracted a large amount of consumers who purchase foreign food owing to its quality and safety for their health. For instance, a number of foods from different nations are imported widely to Vietnam and popular with consumers such as fruits, seafood, milk and meat. Thus, it is easy to understand why people opt to purchase imported food in the modern age. To tackle this problem, the government should promote the advertisement of local food. It must be recognized that businesses and local farmers tend to market and implement stricter labelling and quality standards for local products. As a result, local products will be well-known and developed easily. Take Vietnam as an example here, where there is a variety of local food being widely advertised on TV and social media, even being promoted by food reviewers. Therefore, local food will go viral. To conclude, purchasing imported food is the best choice for its quality and being good for people's health. Besides that, local foods should be widely advertised to stimulate people to buy them.