School children and students of all ages now use technology a great deal in their studies. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In light of technological development, all pupils and university students have been exposed to various digital mediums for their studies. Although it has some drawbacks, I strongly believe that it is considered a positive phenomenon. On the one hand, some people claim that being too dependent on technology may reduce students ’ creativity and innovation which might arise if they pursue the conventional process of education. In other words, students have easy access to different educational websites and apps, they are less likely to try hard in order to accomplish their school’s assignments, as they can easily do their tasks by surfing the web with a push of a button. Research findings confirm that the number of pupils who use the nerve cells of their brain to solve challenging math problems has dramatically dropped, due to the excessive use of technology. Another negative aspect is that by using the Internet, children may learn their lessons superficially, therefore, they do not learn their core lessons comprehensively. As a result, they fail to convert their knowledge into practical experience which is essential for their success in their profession in the long run. On the other hand, others justifiably argue that regarding technological advancement, students of all ages have unlimited access to different types of scientific resources, which provide them with state-of-the-art educational software. Therefore, they are able to get familiar with up-to-date technology and improve their knowledge in every field of science. Consequently, not only would they be qualified graduates, but also acquire an edge over other job seekers which would help them to become successful in this competitive era. In addition, globalization has been taking place so fast that cross-border communication is not only a demand, but also a determining factor in strengthening bonds among countries and people. Subsequently, utilizing technological gadgets and software assists students to be in harmony with their peers who live overseas. For instance, thanks to technology, a pupil in a developing country can access the same pedagogical resources as their peers do in developed countries. Thus, geographical boundaries have not been a barrier anymore. To conclude, although using technology in an instructive process has some disadvantages, I deeply believe that its benefits outweigh the drawbacks.