Some people think that large international sporting events only brings drawbacks, and that it is not worth hosting them. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an opinion that big sports tournaments are highly disadvantageous for countries where they are held. However, I totally disagree with this view, as these competitions make people closer to each other and promote tourism to a hosting country. The main reason why I believe that world championships are important for hosts is because it raises people ’s unity and may even make them leave their conflicts for some time. For instance, during the World Cup in Russia, the whole country turned into the territory, where people would forget about their disagreements and get together to support their team. Usually, when such events take place abroad, for many, a vast majority of people cannot afford to travel to cheer for their national athletes. However, when sportsmen compete at home, the cost of attendance is significantly lower. Therefore, more people can see it in real life and feel the atmosphere of a sports fest, which urges viewers to stay in peace and celebrate. Another reason to claim that global sports competitions are beneficial for their hosts is because media present the country to the world and international fans popularize it. It happens mainly due to the fact that authorities allocate special funds to improve local tourist and sports infrastructure and encourage the population to be welcoming via different media channels. Consequently, after foreigners got a chance to discover completely rebuilt environment along with smiling and friendly people, they come back home and advice their friends to visit this venue. For instance, the quantity of tourists to Russia has tripled since it hosted the Winter Olympics and the FIFA World Cup. In conclusion, in my opinion, world sports competitions are of utmost importance for their hosts, because this way they can get their country to be advertised globally and ease internal conflicts and dissatisfaction among locals.