Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

An increasingly frequent appearance of advertisements greatly affects both economic and social aspects. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this development before concluding that the former is more significant. On the one hand, the growing popularity of advertising is disadvantageous to a certain extent. First and foremost, it could cause negative feelings among customers. This is because a huge number of advertisements are displayed in the middle of climax moments to grab the audience's attention, thereby disrupting their enjoyment and creating an unfriendly outlook on those items or companies. Furthermore, unlawful content and misleading information could be disseminated extensively on social platforms, such as Facebook or Twitter, as legal ones, which could put media consumers at risk of fraud or even committing a crime by taking part in online gambling. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that the rising prevalence of advertising could offer more profound benefits. One key rationale in favour of this view is that this tendency could improve a country's economy. This perspective could be further clarified by the fact that the marketing industry has a gigantic annual turnover so the governing bodies could enhance the nation's budget through taxes to construct public facilities, such as highways, bridges, or electricity grids. Another justification is that the irreplaceable activity of every firm is advertising. To be more specific, that is the most efficient method to introduce products' features, promotions, and policies to customers, which could not only increase the sales amount and profits but also prevent the organization from going downsize or falling into bankruptcy. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that the ubiquity of advertising has some drawbacks in certain facets, I would contend that the upsides that it offers are significantly more noteworthy.