In many countries, people do not recycle waste materials, such as bottles and newspapers. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem?

Despite the big role cycling plays in reducing our impact on the environment, many people all over the world do not recycle their waste. This essay will discuss why this might be the case and offer a few possible solutions. One of the reasons behind this behaviour seems to be an inconvenience. Many residents find it unpractical to constantly classify their garbage since it demands a considerable amount of time that they simply do not have. Take, for instance, a mother who just arrived home from work and must assist her children with their homework and immediately cook dinner for the entire family. This may seem a lot to handle for one person. That is why a potential solution could be to divide daily house chores such as cooking, cleaning, and recycling. In this case, while the mother takes care of the children and prepares a meal, her spouse can recycle what is in the waste bin. Another possible solution for this situation is to place different recycling bins in the house and slowly incorporate the habit of sorting out the residues from the very beginning. On the other hand, there is a huge unawareness of how one must recycle. Adult people who are already out of the education system aren't being taught how to proceed to recycle their waste. Hence, when they are presented with the opportunity of sorting out their garbage, for example at a public park, they will proceed to deposit all their trash in the common waste bin. That is why a public campaign to educate the community on this subject would be a great solution. Through friendly television spots, everyone can learn the proper way to recycle and incorporate the habit into their daily routine. In conclusion, the two main causes of people not recycling, inconvenience and lack of awareness, can be easily addressed by taking collectively a series of actions. Both the city governments and the citizens must compromise to see changes.